February 27, 2024

Close this search box.

JOHOR BAHRU, 16 Disember 2018 – Three final year undergraduate students were selected as the recipient of Undergraduate Research Conference (URC) 2018 Special Award for their outstanding achievement in presenting their final year project.

The URC 2018 Special Award recipients were Nurathirah Maarof from Azman Hashim International Business School ( AHIBS), Thipan Raj a/l Katigasu from the School of Education and Wong Ting Chun from the School of Chemical and Energy Engineering.

The URC 2018 Programme Coordinator, Mohd Rashid Abd. Rahup said that besides Special Award, The Best Presenter Award were also given to 11 Best Presenters among all the participants.

“There were 100 participants carrying with them 100 projects to be evaluated through the evaluation process conducted by 22 academicians and 11 industrial representatives,” said Mohd. Rashid.

He added that from this 100 participants, 41 were from the Azman Hashim International Business School (AHIBS) followed by 40 from the School of Chemical and Energy Engineering, School of Education (11), School of Mechanical Engineering (4) and another four were from the School of Electrical Engineering.

“As the first conference of its kind, the URC 2018 is an excellent platform to showcase research works carried out by our final year undergraduate students.
“This event also provides a mean for them to interact with other students from different discipline which could nurture their social and interpersonal skills, creativity and critical thinking which later could make these future graduates to be more holistic in their approach,” said Mohd. Rashid.

The URC 2018 were opened to all undergraduate students from all faculties and school in UTM. For URC 2018, all the 100 participants were required to write and draw about their Final Projects. which were later evaluated by panels from the academia and the industry.

“It is hoped that the URC 2018 will become a stimulating platform for undergraduate collaborative research of different disciplines not only in UTM but also between universities in Malaysia in the future,” said Mohd. Rashid.
All the winners received their prizes from Chair of Undergraduate Studies, Prof. Dr. Mohd. Zaki Kamsah in a simple ceremony held at the Senate Hall, UTM Johor Bahru. Also attending the ceremony was the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Student Affairs), Prof. Dr. Durrishah Idrus.

Nurathirah Maarof, Thipan Raj and Wong Ting Chun receiving their URC 2018 Special Award from Chair of UTM Undergraduate Studies, Prof. Dr. Mohd. Zaki Kamsah at the Senate Hall, UTM Johor Bahru.

Explore More