February 25, 2024

Close this search box.

JOHOR BAHRU, 18 November 2018 – The Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) debating team has won the first place in the Intervarsity Nuclear Debate Challenge 2018, an annual nuclear debate competition organised by UTM Nuclear Engineering Student Society (NESS).
The programme which was held on 16th to 18th November 2018 at the Faculty of Built Environment and Surveying (FABU) was organized with a collaborative effort between NESS and Nusantara Technologies Sdn Bhd, Malaysian Nuclear Society (MNS) and UTM English Debate Society.
Programme Director, Devintharaaj a/l Kumar said that the participation for 2018 comprised 32 students from six local public universities (UA).

“This year, a total of 32 students from 6 Malaysian universities took part; Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTeM), Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) Bukit Besi branch, UiTM Shah Alam and Pasir Gudang branch and Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UniTEN).

“The programme was organized with the theme, “Would the World be Better-off without Nuclear Power?” and it was designed to encourage the participants to engage in intellectual discussion while reassessing their perception on nuclear energy and nuclear technology as a whole,” said Devintharaaj.

A cash prize worth RM1, 300.00 was awarded to the champion, Muhammad Yusuf, Fariqy Farhan, and Chia Yong Chai from UTM along with a coveted trophy and certificates while UniTEN emerged as a second place winner and took home RM800.00.

“The Best Speakers category witnessed the participant from UniTEN, Shatiswarren Pachiappan crowned as the Best Speakers and received a cash prize of RM200.00. UiTM Shah Alam came in the third place.

“The prize giving ceremony was enlivened by the Johor State Assemblyman (ADUN) for the Mengkibol constituent, YB Chew Chong Sin, ADUN who attended the Gala Dinner as representative of YB Tan Hong Pin, Johor State Local Government, Science and Technology Committee Chairman,” said Devintharaaj.

Also attending the Gala Dinner were Mr. Nazaruddin Rahmat Muji Dato’ Mohamed Razali, Managing Director of Nusantara Technologies Sdn Bhd, the major sponsor of the event; Prof. Dr. Mohd Ghazali Mohd Nawawi, Chair of School of Chemical and Energy Engineering; Assoc. Prof. Dr. Khaidzir Hamzah, Head of Nuclear Engineering Programme; Assoc. Prof. Dr. Roshanida A. Rahman, Deputy Dean of Faculty of Engineering (Student Affairs) and Dr. Zulhairun Abdul Karim, Advisor of Nuclear Engineering Student Society.

Considering the positive feedbacks, the event is expected to gain more participants in the future and become a platform for knowledge transfer and correcting the misconceptions and stigmas on nuclear power.

NESS UTM will be organizing yet another high impact event – the International Nuclear Science, Technology and Engineering Conference (INuSTEC 2018) from 23rd November to 25th November 2018 at Dewan Sultan Iskandar, UTM Skudai.

The Nuclear Intervarsity Debating Programme 2018 winners taking a group photo with YB Chew Chong Sin after the prize conferment session.

Explore More