CYBERJAYA, 9 July 2018 – Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) achieved a tremendous victory by winning 12 prizes out of 16 categories in the Innovate Malaysia Design Competition 2018.

Director of UTM Centre for Student Innovation & Technology Entrepreneurship (UTM XCITE), Assoc. Prof. Dr Zaidi Rozan said four UTM teams emerged champion, two teams won the 1st place, four teams won the 2nd runner-up and another two teams grabbed the consolation prizes.

“This year, the Best of the Best team is also won by UTM, and the team has been awarded the Innovate Malaysia Excellence Award 2018. The team, spearheaded by Lim Ji Chen, Chin Linn Kern and Matthias Tiong Foh Thye focusing on problems in construction sites mainly on Workplace Safety and Security using Deep Learning Application has won the Excellence Award (Best of the Best) and First Prize Award under Google Track,” he said.

Innovate Malaysia Design Competition 2018 is a multi-disciplinary engineering design competition for undergraduates in Malaysia. It was co-organized by 8 technology leaders in the industry, supported by the Ministry of Education (MOE), MaGIC and the Institution of Engineers, Malaysia.

“This has been the largest design competition in Malaysia over the years. It is a platform to groom and develop engineering talent besides providing industry exposures to the university students.

Briefly, this programme prepares the brightest talents into the pursuit of fulfilling careers, furthering studies or even technology start-ups,” he said.
The Innovate Malaysia Design Competition 2018 had received registration of 516 teams consisting of more than 900 students. Only 59 teams were selected as the finalist including 12 UTM teams.

The Technology Track Award is supported by Google, Intel, KEYSIGHT Technologies, MathWorks, Microsoft, SAS, SILTERRA, SOLIDWORKS and Celcom, Cyberview, Daikin, Exabytes, Telekom Malaysia and in addition, WCS contributed to the Design Challenge Award.

From left: Assoc. Prof. Dr Zaidi Rozan, Lim Ji Chen, Dr Maszlee Malik (Education Minister of Malaysia), Chin Linn Kern and Matthias Tiong Foh Thye at Innovate Design Malaysia 2018 Cyberjaya.

Best of the Best Excellence Award and Google Track Champion. From left: Dr Mohd Shahrizal Bin Rusli (School of Electrical Engineering), Assoc. Prof. Dr Ramesh K S @ Mohd Zaidi Abd Rozan (UTMXCITE/AHIBS), Lim Ji Chen, Chin Linn Kern and Matthias Tiong Foh Thye from School of Electrical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering.


Winners of Innovate Malaysia 2018. UTM grabbed the most prizes in Innovate Malaysia 2018 with 12 prizes including the Excellence Award (Best of the Best) in Innovate Malaysia 2018