May 25, 2024

Close this search box.


The 63rd UTM Convocation was made extra special for AHIBS top graduates as they were celebrated on November 3rd 2019 at Impiana Hotel, Senai.  Over 130 attendees joined the event who consisted of their family members, UTM top management, lecturers, supervisors, and industry panels in AHIBS Graduation Recognition Night 2019.

Several VVIPs also graced the event that included Tan Sri Azman Hashim, Chairman of AmBank Group; UTM Pro-Chancellor Tan Sri Datin Paduka Siti Sa’adiah Sheikh Bakir, Vice-Chancellor Prof. Datuk Ir. Dr. Wahid bin Omar, and UTM Emeritus Professor Tan Sri Prof. Ir. Dr. Mohd Zulkifli.

Forty best students from AHIBS postgraduate and undergraduate programs received special awards to recognize their academic excellence and superior co-curriculum activities. The winners received certificates and monetary rewards sponsored by various bodies including the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW), Alumni UTM, and Tun Fatimah Award.  The event offered eight award categories:

  1. Tun Fatimah bt Hj Hashim Gold medal award – given to those who achieved excellence in academic and co-curricular activities (Recipient : Nurfariha binti Abd Razak, Bachelor of Management (Technology))
  2. Vice-Chancellor Award – given to the most outstanding graduate from each faculty (Recipient : Ain Nazihah binti Saidon, Bachelor of Management (Technology))
  3. ICAEW Academic Excellence Award – given to a Bachelor degree graduate who has shown excellent achievement in accounting program (Recipient : Chong Wei Xvan, Bachelor of Accounting)
  4. ACCA Academic Excellence Award – given to a Bachelor degree graduate who has shown excellent achievement in accounting program (Recipient : Chua Khai Zheng, Bachelor of Accounting)
  1. Alumni award – given to outstanding Post-Graduates selected by Alumni Unit (Recipient : Dr. Abrar Ullah, Doctor of Philosophy, Field: Management)
  2. Dean’s Award – Given to all undergraduates who attained CGPA above 3.67. (Recipients :
    • Chong Wei Xvan, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Chua Khai Zeng, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Esther Ng Xin Rou, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Lim Yi Hui, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Norhayati Binti Mohamad, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Norsarah Binti Saipuddin, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Nur Faraheen Binti Junisman, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Nur Izzati Binti Ashak, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Tar Yoke Hui, Bachelor of Accounting
    • Farah Atiqah Binti Sharif,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Kamariah Binti Hassan, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Lee Khang Xian, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Mohamad Shqqi Bin Nordin,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Muhammad Faiz Bin Amzah,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Nur Umairah Binti Mohd Zani,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Nurfariha Binti Abdul Razak,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Sandra Lisa Mahkota,  Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Siti Munirah Binti Abdullah, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Tan Poh Ling, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Yap Choon Ying, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Khoo Siu Li, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  • Khor Xue Mei, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Lee Yi Chin, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Lim Zhi Xin, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Nurul Jannatul Syuhada Binti Abdullah, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Tan Fei Yin, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Tan Pui San, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  1. AHIBS Social Award – a special award of Synergy 4.0 created for AHIBS CSR yearly initiatives across the UG programmes. Recipients:
  • Siti Norfarhah Binti Normansah, Bachelor of Accounting
  • Nur Farashakinah Binti Mohd Zoraidi, Bachelor of Management (Marketing)
  • Siti Nur Shamira Binti Rosli, Bachelor of Management (Technology)
  1. Post-Graduate Best Student Awards – given to outstanding post-graduate students. Recipients:
  • Hendry Sastra Bin Ismail, Doctor Of Business Administration
  • Muhammad Aamir, Doctor Of Philosophy
  • Zaheer Ahmed, Doctor Of Philosophy, Field: Management
  • Abrar Ullah, Doctor Of Philosophy, Field: Management
  • Shanoop Kuzhi Parambath, Master of Management
  • Fariha Anjum Hira, Master Of Business Administration
  • Norhudayati ‘M’ Binti Mustapha, Master Of Business Administration
  • Santhi A/P Rajandran, Master Of Business Administration
  • Wan Nabilah Binti Wan Mat, Master Of Business Administration

In her welcoming remarks, AHIBS Dean, Professor Dr. Nur Naha Abu Mansor reminded the graduates to find a moment to think of their loved ones whose generous support and sacrifices have helped them to achieve their dreams. She also hoped that AHIBS has provided them with the knowledge, vision and confidence to prepare them for career and life challenges.

The event also commemorated the soft-launching of AHIBS Adjunct Professors Mentoring Programme that aims to support, guide and facilitate students learning process in AHIBS, and socialise them into the culture of the discipline by learning from mentors. The program will run in January 2020. AHIBS has appointed six adjunct professors on board, specially selected for their outstanding and diverse experience in their respective fields. The adjunct professors are:

  • Tan Sri Dato’ Paduka Dr. Fng Ah Seng, Managing Director Of Epic Valley Holdings Sdn. Bhd., Chairman Of Yayasan Muhibah
  • Dato’ Dr Zainudin Bin Mohd. Ali, Director of Negeri Sembilan State Health Department
  • Dato Ts. Dr. Mohd Ismail Abd Aziz, Non-Executive Director of MYHIMS PLT
  • Captain Kannan Perumal, Pilot with Singapore Airlines Limited (SIA)
  • Hj. Zairulshahfuddin Bin Zainal Abidin, CEO of Islamic Relief Malaysia
  • Aminuddin Zakaria, CEO of MASwings

Tan Sri Azman Hashim entertained the audience by showcasing his singing talent, accompanied by the Azman Hashim Big Band. A total of 308 students graduated with AHIBS programs in the UTM 63rd Convocation (169 undergraduates, 139 postgraduates, and 29 UTMSpace Bachelor degree graduates). In the future, AHIBS hopes to extend such event to include all AHIBS yearly graduates.

AHIBS wishes to thank all parties, especially Tan Sri Azman Hashim for his special donation for the event. Utmost appreciation also goes to the event organizing team Madam Nor Qamariah Othman, Dr. Norzafir Saleh and their support staff for their tireless effort to make the event a success. A special highlight to AHIBS Dean whose aspiration has elevated the regular Best Students Award program into a memorable event for all.


Explore More