Prof. Dr. Tharek Abdul Rahman (fifth from left) with YB Gobind Singh Deo

Prof. Dr. Tharek Abdul Rahman, one of the 5G Special Task Force members, attended The National 5G Task Force Mid-Term Report handover ceremony that was held at the MCMC Old Building in Cyberjaya on 29th July 2019 . The 5G Special Task Force has presented its Mid-Term Report to YB Gobind Singh Deo, Minister of Communication and Multimedia.

The National 5G Task Force Mid-Term Report is a test bed for the 5G service network that will be widened to five states after being implemented in Putrajaya and Cyberjaya in April 2019. The five implemented states are Selangor, Perak, Terengganu, Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory and Kedah. The report was important for the nation to make a study on the implementation of the 5G services, encompassing the spectrum of management and allocation, infrastructure, regulatory and business cases. Besides, the report was crucial in ensuring that Malaysia achieved the aspiration to implement the 5G in the first quarter or middle of next year, with a focus on specific industries.

The team was given mandate to evolve as the 5G Implementation Task Force upon completion of its current tasks by the end of the year before being presented to the Cabinet.