25 August 2014, Bogor, Indonesia

The Director of Process Systems Engineering Centre (PROSPECT), Faculty of Chemical and Natural Resources Engineering, University Technology Malaysia (UTM) Associate Professor Ir. Dr. Sharifah Rafidah Datu’ Wan Alwi, has received the highly commended ASEAN Young Scientist and Technologist Award (AYSTA) 2014.

AYSTA nominees comprise 10 finalists, one from each ASEAN member States, below 35 years of age. The nominees go through a rigorous selection process based on set criteria involving the potential shown and contributions made in research, as well as development and innovation in the scientific field.

Dr Sharifah, who specializes in process systems engineering and resource conservation, took home a prize money of USD 10,000.
The award was presented by His Excellency Prof. Dr. Ir. Gusti M. Hatta, Minister of Research and Technology, Indonesia. The award giving ceremony was also attended by YB Datuk Dr Ewon Ebin, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI) Malaysia.

Two other ASEAN S&T awards won by Malaysians are ‘The ASEAN Outstanding Scientist and Technologist Award (AOSTA)’, awarded to Professor Dr Harith Ahmad from University of Malaya and ‘The ASEAN Meritorious Service Award (AMSA)’, awarded to YBhg Professor Tan Sri Zakri Abdul Hamid.


Dr Sharifah (left), Prof Harith Ahmad (middle) from UM (Winner of ASEAN Outstanding Science and Technologist) and Dr. Nuttaporn Pimpha (right) from Thailand (Winner of ASEAN-US Science Prize for Women).