April 22, 2024

Close this search box.

Synergistic Collaboration : Architecture & Engineering Students Unite to Redefine Boundaries at Malaysian Structural Steel Association – (MSSA OIC) 2023

Kuala Lumpur, 19 November 2023 – The UTM team from the Architecture program in the Faculty of Built Environment and Surveying, along with the Faculty of Civil Engineering, displayed remarkable collaboration and expertise, garnering recognition and honor at the MSSA OIC competition. In the MSSA-OIC 2023 competition, three teams from UTM have been shortlisted as finalists. The finalist presentation took place on November 16, 2023 (Thursday) at the MITEC Complex (Malaysia International Trade & Exhibition Center) @ KL Metropolis, while the Award Ceremony was held on November 17, 2023 (Friday). The award ceremony, held on November 19, 2023, at MITEC Kuala Lumpur, celebrated the outstanding achievements and hard work of these talented individuals.

Among the UTM team, notable recipients included the architecture students led by Alif Mauliddin Bin Reza Syahrial. Accompanied by Fajrul Amin Bin Mansuri, Adzrri Bin Noor Azman, Masyitah Binti Mohd Fauzi, Ong Xin Qi, and Wong Yu Hui from the civil engineering field, their exceptional skills and dedication resulted in the team receiving the Consolation Prize. Furthermore, Ts Dr. Leng Pau Chung and Ts. Dr. Mohd Nur Asmawisham Bin Alel served as advisors for the architecture and civil engineering teams, respectively, providing guidance and support throughout the process.

Furthermore, as finalists in the competition, the UTM team demonstrated their excellence. The architecture team was led by Sarah Haziqah Binti Md Rashidi, who was assisted by Lim Xiao Teng, and the civil engineering team was represented by Looi Wei Ting and Chin Jing Yang. Their outstanding performance displayed their competence and dedication. As consultants for the architecture and civil engineering teams, Ts Dr. Leng Pau Chung and Assoc Prof. Dr. Tan Cher Siang provided significant help.

Another UTM team advanced to the finals, demonstrating remarkable talent and expertise. The architecture team was led by Faizzis Farhan Bin Kamaruzzaman and comprised Nik Aidil Baihaqi Bin Nik Ali Noordin, Irfan Bin Mohd Zambri, and Muhammad Haziq Bin Johari. Ting Ngien Swee and Nicholas Chieng Kai Liang represented the civil engineering department. Dr. Nor Izura Binti Tukiman and Dr. Shek Poi Ngian acted as advisors, bringing their knowledge to the architecture and civil engineering teams, respectively.

Figure 1: The announcement of winner (Consolation Prize) during the MSSA OIC 2023 Award ceremony at MITEC Kuala Lumpur

The success of the three selected UTM teams in the MSSA OIC competition demonstrates their dedication, hard effort, and enthusiasm for their respective professions. The university is extremely proud of these successes, which serve as an inspiration to future generations.

In conclusion, UTM has demonstrated a strong ability to foster synergy and collaboration among its students. This collaborative environment has enabled students from different disciplines, such as Architecture and Civil Engineering, to come together, perform, and excel in competitions like the MSSA-OIC 2023. The advantages of such collaborative competitions are significant. They provide students with opportunities to learn from one another, leverage their diverse expertise, and tackle complex challenges by combining their strengths. The achievements of the UTM team in this competition serve as a testament to the university’s commitment to nurturing collaborative skills and supporting student growth. We extend our best wishes to all the students involved, hoping that their success will inspire further collaborative endeavors in the future. May UTM continue to provide a conducive environment for students to thrive and achieve remarkable accomplishments. The UTM team is once again commended for their outstanding results, and they are encouraged to keep up their fantastic momentum and continue to make the university proud.

Figure 2: The group photo includes the UTM finalists and consolation prize winners of MSSA OIC 2023, along with the academic supervisors, Dr. Mohammad Ezzad Abu Bakar, Ts. Dr. Leng Pau Chung, and PM Dr. Tan Cher Siang.

List of authors: Ts Dr. Leng Pau Chung, PM Ar Dr. Lim Yaik Wah, Dr. Mohammad Ezzad Abu Bakar, Dr. Nor Izura Tukiman, PM Dr. Tan Cher Siang

Explore More